Special Advisory Commission on Management Issues-SACMI 

Home > English > What is the IICA? > Governing Bodies > Special Advisory Commission on Management Issues-SACMI



The Special Advisory Commission on Management Issues (SACMI) is a special committee created by the Inter-American Board of Agriculture (IABA).  It is subordinate to the Executive Committee and is essentially consultative in nature.  The purpose of SACMI is to promote a regular exchange between the Director General and the Member States on administrative and financial initiatives and matters in an effort to facilitate the process of reaching consensus in the Executive Committee and the IABA. (more)



(i)         To advise and assist the Director General in developing, evaluating and implementing proposals aimed at improving, modernizing and transforming the management and financial administration of the Institute;

(ii)        To facilitate consultations among the Member States and between them and the Director General on financial and administrative issues and initiatives;

(iii)       To adopt its own Statute pursuant to  the Rules of  the Institute; and

(iv)       To report to the Executive Committee each year on its activities.


Nine countries sit on the SACMI:  the six Member States in Group I, define in Article 6 of the Rules of Procedure of the Executive Committee, which serve for two consecutive calendar years, and one Member State from each of the three remaining groups defined in the aforementioned article, which serve for one calendar year.  The Representatives appointed must have knowledge of and experience in international organizations, technical cooperation (preferably in agriculture), personnel administration, finance, budgetary administration and administration, in general, as well as good practical knowledge of Spanish and English.

Grouping of the Member States

Group I:     Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, United States of America, Venezuela.

Group II:    Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Bolivia, Chile.

Group III:   Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Dominican Republic, Belize.

Group IV:    St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Dominica, Granada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, St. Lucia.


Home | Contact us | Consultants Registration | Career Opportunities | RSS
© IICA 2015
All Rights Reserved
Your comments  ▪  Email  ▪  Intranet